News & Events

WI Sales Tax Rebate for Dependent Children

Wisconsin’s budget has a surplus of almost $400 million, the State of Wisconsin passed a law to return some of that surplus to taxpayers in the form of a Child Sales Tax Rebate. Governor Walker and the state legislature have determined that the excess budget will be returned to taxpayers in the form of a Child Sales Tax Rebate.

If you are eligible, you can claim it between May 15th and July 2nd.  The rebate is for sales and uses tax paid on purchases made for raising a dependent child in 2017.  You may claim $100 for each qualified child.

To qualify the child must be:

  1. Under age 18 on December 31, 2017
  2. A dependent of the claimant for the tax year 2017
  3. A Wisconsin resident on December 31, 2017
  4. A US citizen.

You can apply for the Child Sales Tax Rebate online 24/7, May 15 – July 2.

The fastest and most convenient way is to go to https://childtaxrebate.wi.gov where you will find more details, frequently asked questions and information.

For a list of FAQ regarding the rebate follow this link: https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-ChildTaxRebate.aspx